The Best Spooky (not scary) Halloween Movies

Okay, I really really love Halloween. And Movies. But, I don’t really love slasher flicks…is that weird? Probably, but I do love not so scary Halloween movies because they really get me into the Halloween spirit thinking creatively not erm, violently!

I love older films that are considered horror films the kind of horror films that did not have Paris Hilton getting killed in them. Like, Psycho. So I like suspense, suspenseful kinda scary films that don’t involved people being chopped to pieces.

I’ve composed a list of Halloween films that are a fun treat to watch this Halloween. Including some older not as scary anymore films.

1. Night of the Living Dead

Night_of_the_Living_Dead_afficheThis movie is creepy good. It’s not a kids movie but that doesn’t mean parents won’t enjoy it without being a little creep’d out at some parts. It’s eery I think because it is an older film and black and white. This is the movie where ZOMBIES were first invented!

2. A Nightmare before Christmas

The_nightmare_before_christmas_posterI have always thought this movie to be more of a Christmas movie. Anyone else? I mean I love watching it especially the Halloween town in the beginning (that is my favorite part, why would he want to leave Halloween town?) but most of the movie is spent in Christmas town. Oh well, it’s still a good one to watch during October and December.

3. Psycho

Psycho_(1960)This is classic scary date night movie. If you have never seen Psycho, now it is time. This year is the year. Watch it. Watch it right now. It is scary and suspenseful in true Hitchcockian fashion.

4. Dracula

dracula1I’ve never seen Dracula (cringe, but it’s true). This is the year I am going to watch it!

5. Hocus Pocus

Hocus-Pocus-19Just turn on the t.v this month and you will see Hocus Pocus. It is such a fun movie and does still spook me out at some parts. Like when the young girl is taken from her bed in the beginning. Ah!

6. ParaNorman

ParaNorman_posterThis movie is so cute and funny for the kids this Halloween. If you’re into Halloween themed movies but not scary ones this one is the one to watch.

7. It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

enhanced-buzz-3514-1381350840-5Charlie Brown always knows what’s up during the holidays. I need to rewatch this one this week.

8.  Casper

Trick-or-Treat-Five-Halloween-Movies-Your-Kids-Will-Love.-And-You-Too_html_m452ea168This movie is so great. It’s classic 90s movies with magical wonderment and tacky outfits.

9. Hotel Transylvania

onesheetI loved this movie too when I watched it last year. It’s another great Halloween not so scary kids movie to check out.

10. Halloweentown

Disney_-_HalloweentownYes, the first movie that really showed my love for Halloween. I want to live in Halloweentown I really do.

Happy Hauntadays! ;)

Syd

3 thoughts on “The Best Spooky (not scary) Halloween Movies

Leave a Reply

